Online Aikido Training

Trial the Online Dojo

Trial the IwamaRyuAikido.Com Internet Dojo

You need a clear space of 3 metres X 3 metres, and friend to partner you. Download the FREE TRIAL CLASS file,"click" on it and then follow the instructions.

After completing your Free Trial Class, if you wish to continue training with us you need to Sign Up as Probationary Member, then you can continue downloading and practicing classes.  For each class downloaded here after you will be charged AU$12 however charged only once regardless of how many others are training with you. 

All assessment (gradings) other that Black Belt are done via Vimeo movie exchange. When prompted by our system you send us an unedited movie of your demonstration of what is required for our assessment; We will send you back a movie assessment of your demonstration.

Your partners though to gain accreditation (ranks) will need to become Associate Probationary Members of your group, but will only need to pay us for their individual Kyu grading assessment fees - minimum fee AU$100.

You must do a minimum of 36 classes and a minimum of four months as a Probationary Member before you can be promoted to 8th Kyu (Yellow Belt).  To achieve this you need to be able to demonstrate the following seven Basics of Iwama Ryu Aikido (you can wear a coloured stripe for each on your white belt): 

  • The stripe tests are Black for Ikkyo 8 completed classes minimum
  • Yellow for Irimi Nage 4 classes minimum completed
  • Brown for Kote Gaeshi 4 classes minimum completed
  • Blue for Shiho Nage 6 classes minimum completed
  • Green for Kaiten Nage 4 classes minimum completed
  • Beige for Juuji Garami 4 classes minimum completed
  • Silver for sword Ichi no Suburi right and left sides and staff suburi (Choku Tsuki & Kaeshi Tsuki) 6 classes minimum completed.

We will notify you whenever you have satisfied our compliance requirements therefore you must both Start Each Class and Complete Each Class so that our database is kept up to date and accurate.   Once you have completed all the

Basic coloured stripe classes you will be be given direction to send us via Vimeo your demonstration of them all for our assessment.

On your promotion to 8th Kyu you become a full member and your partner(s) associate members then you can commence training your way through to 7th Kyu (Orange belt).

If you follow the Internet Dojo instructions well and do all the repetitions required taking no short cuts you should be able to complete the Basics Assessment and subsequent Kyu belt tests inexpensively (compared to terrestrial Dojos).  You will have better quality technical instruction than you are likely to find locally. Those who take short cuts will no doubt be caught out in the assessment process.  We have no intention of lessening the value of achieving an Iwama Ryu Aikido rank Kyu or Dan.

The Internet Dojo has eight Kyu grades; Kyu ranks are pre black belt ranks. 
The lowest is 8 and the highest 1; the opposite of Dan or Black Belt ranks where the lowest is 1 and the highest in some organisations is 10.

Ungraded beginners wear a white belt then work there way through the stripe system to - 8th Kyu (yellow belt) - 7th Kyu (orange belt) -6th Kyu (blue & white belt), -5th kyu (blue belt), - 4th kyu (green belt), - 3rd kyu (red belt), - 2nd kyu (purple belt), - 1st kyu (brown).

8th - 1st Kyu is a chain test (The 1st kyu test includes the 2nd to 8th kyu tests, the 2nd kyu test includes the 3rd-8th kyu test, and so forth and so on).



All tests (both Dan & Kyu) are arranged to ensure that deshi on any given day can reproduce what they have done in prior tests.  There is a new component in every exam as well as review of much that has been examined before.  Every kyu test and Dan test has some techniques and attacks that are being assessed by the examiner(s) that were not required in prior exams.

Dan ranks are black belt levels.  The initial black belt that is earned is called Shodan (1st Dan) then the Dan ranks ascend to 2nd Dan (Nidan), to 3rd dan (Sandan) and then 4th Dan (Yondan).  Morihiro Saito Sensei used to say that "a Shodan must know the basics of Aikido (especially shomen uchi ikkyos) and have kokyu (breath power), a Nidan is strong, a Sandan is flexible in executing Aikido defenses and taking ukemi (falls) and a Yondan should be able to do well the entire Iwama Ryu Aikido syllabus after which all ranks are for service or are political in nature".

The yondan (4th degree black belt) test is a test to establish that the deshi has learnt and can apply efficiently and effectively the entire Iwama Ryu Aikido Curriculum both open handed and weapons (sword and staff).  The Sensei so to speak signs off on the deshi as having been taught all that can be taught by him directly.

The following Class Cycle Key shows diagrammatically how our classes progress.  For example from the 12 o’clock position moving clockwise each coloured segment represents a training day, after seven classes you are back to the 12 o’clock position from which you started.  From here you continue the progression clockwise training day by training day for as long as you continue in Aikido.

Looking at the diagram from the center to the circumference:  The three non segmented circles are part one of the class, which takes 20 minutes and is practiced every class except on weapons class days.  The segmented circle surrounded by the white circle is part 2 of the class.  It takes about 35 minutes and is where you learn the absolute must know basics of Aikido.  The segmented circle to the outside of the white circle is where those ranked 8th Kyu and above are instructed and practice variations to the basic technique of the day and from time to time other defense categories that have a connection to the stripe technique of the day.  The inner of the outer two circled is dedicated to the practice of the control techniques all of which use a lock and a pin.  The outside circle insures that we work through most of the kneeling extension practices.


Iwama Ryu Aikido Australia Online Dojo Class Cycle


Ken.Jo (Sword. Staff) Syllabus

  • Aiki Ken Suburi - Suburi 1-7
  • Aiki Ken Awaze  Method
    • Migi Awaze
    • Hidari Awaze
    • 5th Awaze
    • 7th Awaze
  • Aiki Jo Suburi
    • Tsuki 1-5
    • Uchi Komi 6-10
    • Katate 11-13
    • Hasso Gaeshi 14-18
    • Nagare Gaeshi 19-20
  • Aiki Jo 31 Kata
  • Aiki Jo 31 Kumijo
  • Aiki Jo 13 Kata
  • Happo Giri X 5
  • Aiki Ken Kumitachi 1-5 and variations
  • Kimusubi No Tachi
  • Aiki Jo 10 Kumi Jo
  • Ken tai Jo 1-7 and variations


Join Now!

Click here to join and start downloading your classes straight away.

Sign Up

Sign In

Sign in here if you are an existing student to download your next class.


Click here if you've forgotten your password.